What is Committee?​​​

Each local area has a committee of adults who believes in the mission of Young Life: to introduce adolescents to Jesus Christ and to help them grow in their faith. You'll find adults from all different backgrounds, careers and churches, including lots of moms and dads who care about kids.

The committee, comprised of parents, Young Life alumni and civic leaders, provides a foundation of financial, administrative and moral support for the local Young Life team.

Ask your area staff person for a local list, and feel free to call these folks with your questions at any time.

Committee

 

The backbone of any Young Life area is its volunteer, adult committee. Whether its strategy, leader care, or event planning, adults like you are key to the areas health. There are a few committees you can choose from: 

  • Area Committee: Assists in vision and direction for the area, leader care, budget, and key staff decisions. The area committee should have representatives/advocates from all schools and ministries in Santa Barbara. (Meets 1/month from Aug-May)

  • Big Swing (Golf) Committee: Organizes the annual Big Swing Golf Tournament in May, recruits golfers, solicits sponsorships, as well as golfs and volunteers the day of the event. (Meets 2/month Jan-May)

  • Banquet Committee: Organizes the annual Fall fundraising banquet. This is a party-planning committee that organizes the program, decorations, food, marketing, and recruits table hosts and guests.  (Meets in May, then 1/month Aug-Nov)

  • Latino Advisory Team: ​ Contact Felipe Contreras for more information at felipecon3@gmail.com​.

Area Committee:

Becca Gill

bgill@providencesb.org

Francine McOwen

bigmacsurf@cox.net

Greg O'Brien

gobrien@mycapnet.com

Karleen Klopp

karleenklopp@gmail.com

Lance Klopp

lanceklopp@gmail.com

Lisa Call

lisacall@hotmail.com

Meagan Stirling

mstirling@westmont.edu

Melissa Kuykendall  

mel.pedrazzini@gmail.com

Patti Hunter

phunter@westmont.edu

Sandy McOwen

samcowen@cox.net

Sara Rudeen

sararudeen@gmail.com

Susan Clayton

seclayton@cox.net

Tammy O'Brien

tobrien@mycapnet.com 

Golf Committee:

Hank Bowis
Ian Dywer
Felipe Contreras
Jessica Jansen
Dave Peterson

Address

Young Life Santa Barbara | 123 W Padre St Ste 3 Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3960

Phone: 818-858-0679

Connect With Us: